.30/40 to 7.62x54R
Hey Guys,
I'm new here and would like some feedback on a project I've been thinking about. I've got a Springfield Model 1898 rifle chambered in .30/40 Krag. The barrel has been replaced and the stock was butchered in the process ("sporterized") killing any value. I was thinking about rechambering it, but the Russian round is about .003 in. bigger than the Krag. I was going to get a barrel blank from Green Mountain Barrels and rebarrel it. The rounds are close enough to the same size to work in the action. The 7.62 is actually only .050 in. shorter than the Krag. My concern is with the bolt. I can't find any info on pressures. I don't want the lug (single) to break and take a bolt in the face. Energy is similar with the 7.62 @ 2677ft/lb and the Krag @ 2209ft/lbs. Is this enough difference to matter? I've been a machinist for over 25 yrs but want to get into gunsmithing. This is the point of this project is to gain some experience. Whatcha think?
Keith
kcraig514, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Feb 2014.
Thanks given by:
Welcome to the forum. Welcome

My Lee manual puts the .30-40 at approx 38,000 PSI and the 7.62x54R at approx 50,000. I'm sure those are sporting / SAAMI figures. I own several Mosin-Nagants and shoot milsurp ammo. I would venture a guess that Bulgarian "yellow tip" is probably closer to 70,000 PSI judging by the recoil and fireball that erupts from the muzzle. Blink
Willie
Thanks given by:
Knowing less than nothing about gunsmithing and little about guns my curiosity begs "why the change from 30/40 Krag to 7.62?" 17428
Busy Bee 12-36 lathe, Busy Bee Mill drill, Busy Bee 4x6 bandsaw, Homemade 9x17 bandsaw, Ad infinitum.
Thanks given by: