Help Fixing an old mini milling machine
Hello everyone,

I'm extremely new to milling/milling machines and just inherited this microlux mini milling machine but i think the chuck is missing or something. I've tried reading up on exactly how to replace it but mine doesnt seem to look like any others i've seen.

I've also made some attempts at removing the chuck and got out what i think is the spindle(?)

I've attached some pictures would love any guidance as to whats missing and what i can use to fix it. The motor and everything seems to work fine so it would be pretty exciting to get this thing working and start learning the ropes!

[Image: IMG_20150206_170423.jpg]
[Image: IMG_20150206_170452.jpg]
[Image: IMG_20150206_170436.jpg]
[Image: IMG_20150206_163811.jpg]

Thanks!
- Ken
Thanks given by:
that long rod threaded on both ends should be the drawbar, see if it will screw into the arbor that the chuck is on by dropping it down the spindle from the top, if it screws in take brass hammer and hit the end of it while holding onto the chuck or put a wadded up rag under it to catch the chuck on.

do a google search for Microlux and see if you can find the manual
dallen, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Apr 2012.

If life seems normal, your not going fast enough! Tongue
Thanks given by:
Looks like an ER style collet Chuck. If so there should be a cap that holds the collet and screws onto the bottom.

[Image: Taig_lathe_ER-16_adapter.jpg]
Shawn, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Nov 2013.
Thanks given by:
Hi Shawn, (sorry should be Ken)
It says it has a Morse Taper #3 spindle, that means the spindle is "hollow" with a Morse taper #3 hole at the bottom.
So the "thing" at the bottom (where the chuck etc. goes) looks like it is stuck in.

Try to do what 'dallen' has suggested.
Don't damage anything especially the threads, it may need a good hard hit. Don't however 'belt' the crap out of it you will damage the bearings.