In the Market
I've used milling machines for years when I was working, not as a machinists but for occasionally fabricating something simple. I'm not an expert at all but know how to use one. Now that I'm retired I am getting back into some of my hobbies such as RC airplanes, gunsmith, modeling and other various things and am finding out that my drill press although is pretty good does not come close to having a mill.

So, I'm looking to buy a mill for somewhere $2k or less for doing small but accurate work. I've looked online and found a few in my price range but have no idea what is good or bad or what to look for.

I would appreciate some advice on what I should be looking for

Thanks
Thanks given by:
My suggestion would be to look at the RF-45 and clones. They're probably the best mill that fits within your price limit. Smiley-gen163

Ed
Thanks given by:
Have  look at 'Benchtop Milling Machines', see if anything takes your fancy.
Smiley-eatdrink004 
DaveH
Thanks given by:
(06-03-2015, 05:18 PM)Thumb Wrote: I've used milling machines for years when I was working, not as a machinists but for occasionally fabricating something simple. I'm not an expert at all but know how to use one. Now that I'm retired I am getting back into some of my hobbies such as RC airplanes, gunsmith, modeling and other various things and am finding out that my drill press although is pretty good does not come close to having a mill.

So, I'm looking to buy a mill for somewhere $2k or less for doing small but accurate work. I've looked online and found a few in my price range but have no idea what is good or bad or what to look for.

I would appreciate some advice on what I should be looking for

Thanks

Thumb

they still building the flying cranes up there where your at?

hit Portland, there's enough industry there they should have a used Bridgeport for sell somewhere. if you've ran them for very long you should know what to look out for in buying a used one.

DA