Fitting a 5C Collet Chuck
I'm new to the world of Machining. I'm getting my lathe and mill set up in the near future. I have a Craftex CX701 lathe. I would really like to get a 5C Collet Chuck for my lathe. It would be a very helpful addition to my lathe for the type of projects I have in mind.

My problem is I don't know how to tell which 5C Collet Chuck will fit my lathe. 

What are the things I should be looking at to find the proper chuck? 

Trevor
Thanks given by:
Your lathe comes with 125mm diameter chucks. That's about 5" so you should be able to use something like this:

http://www.shars.com/products/toolholdin...llet-chuck

You'll have to make a back plate in order to mount it to your lathe.

Ed
Thanks given by:
Hello

I would not go for a 5C chuck system its clamping range is very limited, The ER system is far superior and ER40 would be a decent size on your new lathe or the ER32 would work nicely too. ER collets depress in either direction by about .018 (IRRC) and the 5C is about .005 at a stretch. Moral of the story " more holding range in odd size stock" 

your going to find in this hobby tooling is going to consume all your hobby bucks in the end your tooling could quiet easily be worth more than your machines you originally purchased to make the things you want to make. Collets are in my opinion one area where you have to invest time and money, you need a plan on what system you want to purchase make a shop standard then purchase quality products. 

Our hobby revolves around one central never ending problem " Work holding"... and collets play a big role in quick accurate solutions to this ...

My advice is do your research on collet systems, if you have a mill make sure the system works on both. The ER system is the most expensive for the collets themselves but there benefits outweigh the high original investment.