Help DRO Questions
I just finished installing a DRO on my lathe and my mill.
I have not had a chance to do any machining using the DROs yet. 
Since I'm new to machining I still learning the terms and procedures. 

The DRO I installed is a BLU-DRO which is a Bluetooth setup using the Touch DRO app on a android tablet. The scales are Igaging scales. 

The first question I have is the Absolute / Incremental button. 
What does each mean and when to I want to use one over the other?

Thanks
Trevor
Thanks given by:
Think of the absolute mode in a literal sense. You would zero the display on the corner, or center of a part and use that as a reference for other features. You could then move to another location on the part, the center of a hole pattern or pocket for instance, switch to incremental mode and re-zero the display. This could be done as many times as necessary, for each feature on the part, always referencing back to that absolute zero point you set when you started.

Tom
[Image: TomsTechLogo-Profile.png]
Thanks given by:
Thanks Tom. 
If I’m getting what your says. 
This would be used on your kneeling tool where the main body has all the measurement set off the center point?
Trevor
Thanks given by:
Here is more of a visual if it helps.

http://www.mmattera.com/g-code/abs-inc.html
Willie
Thanks given by:
Thanks Willie.
That defiantly helped.
Trevor
Thanks given by:
(03-25-2018, 08:42 PM)Cross Slide Wrote: Thanks Tom. 
If I’m getting what your says. 
This would be used on your kneeling tool where the main body has all the measurement set off the center point?
Trevor

Wherever your measurements are taken from is absolute zero on the part.

Tom
[Image: TomsTechLogo-Profile.png]
Thanks given by:
That now makes complete sense. Thanks for the info guys.
I believe that was the only thing that I didn't understand on the lathe setup.
The DRO on the mill has a bolt circle and grid pattern function that I want to learn how to use.