Help filling tiny gap
I have a steel knife blade and a brass guard. The brass guard is a pretty good fit around most of the tang but it is not perfect. I was going to solder the brass to steel but before I start, I have a few questions:

1. Can I use the flux and solder that I use for my copper pipe plumbing?
2. If so, do you have any advice on filling the gap(s)? I'd guess the gaps are about 1/32" or so. I'm used to soldering copper pipe fittings that are snug. This is different.

Ideal would be a solder that looks like brass, and which I could "build up" a little bit (without messing with the steel temper) but I don't know if there is such an animal. I used to be a pretty good gas welder but that was 45 years ago, it was all steel to steel, and it definitely melted the parts to be joined. I don't think I want to do that to my blade.

Thanks for any advice/ideas.

Edited to add: I did some research and it looks like Braze Welding may do the trick. Unlike brazing, it doesn't rely on capilary action and allows for build up without actually welding (melting) the two metals. I guess my question would be, would the brass rod melt before my brass guard?
Thanks given by:
Welcome James
Brazing brass is a touchy process, can be done but the brass is really close to the molten stage when the brazing wire is ready to flow.
Think it would be too hot a process for your tempered blade though.
There might be a silver solder alloy that would have a low enough flowing temperature for your application. I've never used the silver solders, more the silver brazing alloys that flow at too hot a temperature for your blade to survive. Thet contain some copper and polish out to a goldish colour that would blend into the brass guard.
Free advice is worth exactly what you payed for it.
Greg
Thanks given by: