stipping paint??
Im looking for a way to remove the paint from the sheetmetal parts for my Jonhson Model B saw. I dont want to rip into them with a wire brush, and I couldnt get the inside of the shrouds anyway. Then I was thinking someone with a sand/bead blaster?? WIll this hurt the sheet metal? Also, I live in a small town, so Im not certain there is anyone around here that will do it (have one guy I can ask). The rest of the saw I can use the wire brush on the 4" grinder or something similar.
There are numerous coats, some peeling, so it should all come off. I have no experience with chemical strippers at all. Someone told me to try Oven Cleaner. Any info would be appreciated ......thank you
Craig
monkers, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun since Nov 2012.
Thanks given by:
Re: Oven Cleaner: Not 100% sure, but i think oven cleaner will "EAT" aluminum if there is any on it?
sasquatch, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun since Jul 2012.
Thanks given by:
Sand blasting will warp thin sheet metal, as in auto body thickness. Bead blasting as far as I know is safe, the beads are lighter than sand so don't do the impact damage. What about paint stripper, not sure whats still available with all the new rulings. There were products that worked really well, one was called Aircraft Paint Remover, available from auto body supply stores, the home furniture paint stripper is next to worthless.
Free advice is worth exactly what you payed for it.
Greg
Thanks given by:
thanks guys, Im gonna look into some paint strippers and see what I come up with
Thanks given by:
Craig,

Go to an automotive paint supply and get "aircraft grade" paint stripper. It has more of the active ingredient, methylene chloride in it than the hardware store variety and will get the job done. You should also know that methylene chloride is very hazardous to use, so either use it outside (stand upwind) or with an organic respirator (the charcoal element type that painters use).