ER32 Adapter(purchased)
Question 
Hi again,
I am having problems working out if this ER32 adapter (for myford nose) is good or bad as i have never used one before? Blush
Anyway, I took a video on my phone and put it on photobucket so it can be seen.
I started by showing my lathes run out, which looks okay? then moved onto the run out of the external parts of the adapter (i guess not too important?) but there seems to be more errors. Then i popped a bit of silver steel into the collet (installed properly by clicking into the nut first) tightened up with the spanner and can see a lot of error there. 17428
I then popped my 3 jaw chuck in and had far less errors?
It looks crap to me, but I am not really sure if i have overlooked anything Chin
Movie here if any one cares to look Popcorn

[Image: th_video-2013-02-02-11-57-00_zps3c712040.jpg]

Thanks Smiley-dancenana
Andy Popcorn

b4dyc, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Apr 2012. Oh yeah
Thanks given by:
Andy,

Do you not have a DTI to do those measurements with? Even so, that does look like crap. I could see the adapter wobbling without even looking at the dial indicator. Not good.

Check for swarf in the mating areas and for burrs on all parts of the adapter including the collet.
A dowel pin or gauge pin would be better for taking the measurement but silver steel shouldn't be too bad. Smiley-gen163

Ed
Thanks given by:
Hi Andy,

The spindle run-out looks great. But the fit of the adapter is bad. The way that it wobbles as you screw it onto the spindle clearly shows the ID of the adapter is oversize. It needs to be tighter, both in the thread fit and the register for the spindle nose.

Seek out a new adapter... Smiley-gen163
Willie
Thanks given by:
Thanks Ed
I thought i was using a DTI ? Do i need to use the one that has a little arm on it then? I think I have one of them.
It has been cleaned many times on all threads :)
I have tried a few other collets and all showed a bit of error.