How can I do it without the fixture shown in this video - Driving Pulley
Hello guys,

Long time no post.

I've been wanting to get back to the shop but... excuses excuses excuses...

Ok. I intend to start working on a 3D printer from scratch, with a good friend of mine. My knowledge in this is almost zero. The friend asked if I can make something like this on my lathe or mill:

3D Printer Extruder Drive Pulley

Found a youtube link which the poster used a fixed that allow free rotation of the workpiece mounted on the tool post and a tap in the lathe chuck:

For those that remember me, I'm still a newbie in everything after 2 years. Is there a way to do the same without the fixture?

Regards,
Wong
Wongster
http://www.wongstersproduction.com

Proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Mar 2012.
Thanks given by:
It's about time you resurfaced Wong.

Without looking at the video, that looks like a worm gear to me. I'll let the experts chime in though before I lead you astray.

Ed
Thanks given by:
you could do the same thing with a knurl roller that has a radius which would fit the groove
dallen, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Apr 2012.

If life seems normal, your not going fast enough! Tongue
Thanks given by:
Hi Wong, nice to see you back Thumbsup

The way shown in the video is the way to do it. Hold the tap in the 3 jaw chuck, and just allow the work piece to revolve on a spindle.

Something like a square bar held in the tool post with a spindle sticking up.
The square bar can have a taped hole to hold the spindle which is screwed into the taped hole.

I'll say what I did. 16x20 flat bar drilled and taped 6mm. The screw was 6mm (Hex head)so a 10mm bar (to act as the spindle) was taped 6mm was screwed on, then turned down to 8mm dia. The hole in the worm was 8mm.

The spindle part can be turned to the correct length so that when tightened it allows the pulley to freely rotate. (With a bit of oil)

Hope you can understand that. 17428