Help Coolant for the home hobbiest
I am getting a lathe and have a mill that have coolant systems. In John's videos I often see him using coolant on his lathe and it looks like a good thing. While looking thru the Enco pages for a suitable coolant I was overwhelmed so an education is in order.

Anyone have any links or suggestions that would provide guidance or an education related to coolant, soluble cutting oils, cutting oils, etc. ... i.e. things I might put in the coolant system?

Something that does not take a lot of care and maintenance would be best as adding a skimmer or other items to control the growth of small organisms is not viable for a home system.

Thanks,
Arvid
Thanks given by:
I worked as a machinist & tool maker for several years and consequently had multiple experiences with rancid water soluble coolant. Consequently I'm using a 50/50 mix of cutting oil and diesel fuel in both my lathe & mill. Its a compromise but works fairly well in ferrous and non-ferrous materials. Some will complain about the smell, but its one I like as it takes me back to my early days in the trade.

BTW, I've had contact dermatitis from water soluble coolant, but have never had it from oil based.
Thanks given by:
I'm using Trico's Tri-Cool TC-1, a full synthetic coolant in my lathe. It's been in there for 6 YEARS and there's just two things I do to keep it fresh. One, I check the level and concentration (refractometer reading) about once a month because I do get evaporation of the water and concentration rises. The second thing I do about twice a year is use a hydrophilic pad to suck tramp way oil off the top of the mix. That keeps the oil from sealing off oxygen to the supply. When that happens, bacteria can fester and cause the rancid smell.