Tools help - buying advice
Hi guys, i need to buy some tools for my mill and lathe, but as i am a complete noob, im not sure what exactly to look for.
I prefer good old quality tools before the cheap and not so good massproduction China stuff.

Here is some of the tools i need to buy: 

* Knurling tool for my lathe
* cutting tools
* flycutter for the mill

Lathe is a relative small one, Emco Maximat V10P, and the mill is also a benchtype, not the smallest type though.
ironman, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun Forum since Apr 2014.
Thanks given by:
What sort of tool holder do you have on the lathe?  Quick change, turret, or ?  If its anything other than a quick change that should be very high on your list.

You'll probably want to start out with High Speed Steel cutting tools for the lathe.  It will help you learn about tool geometry and you'll want to keep your RPM's down as you learn how to run the lathe.  You'll also need to buy a bench or pedestal grinder at minimum a 6" preferably an 8" machine. 

Speaking of which another "must have" for your list is "How to Run a Lathe" by the South Bend Lathe Works.  Check Ebay or Amazon for it.  In addition Google "Machinery Repairman 3 & 2".  It's the US Navy's machinist textbook and has lots of good information.  It's also free on line.  Full disclosure that's the text I learned from while in the Navy.

For the fly cutter, make one.  Its a fairly simple project that will also help you learn your equipment.

For the knurling tool do not buy a cheap one as the knurls will either not work at all, or fail fairly soon.

Welcome to the addiction.  Big Grin
Thanks given by:
Thanks Dr Stan.
I have quick change :) Very handy. Its Tripan brand - i think its Swiss.
I have an pedestal grinder, but its a cheap one that i got when i was a teenager, not a good unit. So im looking around to find an industrial piece.