Newall DRO on 14x40 lathe
Here are some pics of my installation. Im no expert by any stretch but happy to answer any questions. Seems like these DRO retrofits are always a series of tradeoffs & mine is no diferent. I might regret some decisions down the road, but I'll give it a go this way for now.

Travels seems accurate but I havent played with it much yet. I'm just happy I didnt have to rent some kind of lifting equipment to move the lathe away from the wall to get in from behind to install the x-axis hardware. I was able to reach in behind with a few painful contortions. The x-axis tube/encoder is Spherosyn. The y-axis & z (compound) is are Microsyn 10.

The one thing I would recommend is taking the time to make simple bar steel jigs to both drill & tap align holes in the cast iron. The only chunk I could easily remove & use a drill press was the compound bock. Everything else was hand drill action which was had me worrying at times. Mostly because some of the positions were just awkward & hard to get good aligmnent pressure wth the drill & straight in with the tap. Some holes went great & others seemed like they hit the equivalent of fir tree knots. Must have been a melted down tire rim in there! Anyway, all the holes are straight & cleanly tapped. Count myself lucky this time.
petertha, proud to be a member of MetalworkingFun since Sep 2012.
Thanks given by:
Here is the X-axis. I made a few wood mockups till I got it right. I used the threaded holes reserved for taper attachment. If I ever modify my lathe to allow that capability I'll have to re-think this. But some taper installations clamped onto the cross slide so maybe I will still have that option open.

Attached Files Thumbnail(s)

Thanks given by: